Some Ideas for Hacking the IKEA Rast Nightstand

Ever since I saw this blank slate of a nightstand…{IKEA}

…magically turn into this gorgeousness:


{Aubrey + Lindsay}

I’ve been wondering what we could do to put our spin on this excellent Ikea hack.

During all this obsessing, I picked up a lot of nightstand inspiration along the way that could be DIYed on the Rast dresser…

1. Paint/stain (in a darker stain) the dresser the same way as Aubrey and Lindsay did, but switch out the handles for a more modern look.


{LOFT Home}

Try the Metrik or the Lansa handles from IKEA for this look.


{Metrik, IKEA}

2. Paint it black and add two thin stripes on both sides in a light color.

{Pier 1}

Try recessed knobs with this look, from here:

3. Chevron it up!

{HGTV}

Please use Frog Tape for this. Blue tape would mess up your project!

I also really love the knobs on the above dresser. I found two knobs with a similar feel:

{ckp}

{ckp}

But what I think we’re gonna do is this:

{from somewhere on ebay}

Do you see it?? The bones are the same! All I need is some black paint and a good stencil to do the outlines – I would like to do two outlines per drawer, so it looks like six drawers (like in the above picture). Maybe the outlines will be painted in white or in silver or gray… not sure yet. I love the pulls, as well.

And another picture of the dresser with my favorite couple of all time:

{Rue}

Let’s see if we can pull it off.

Naomi from Thirteen and South recently made over her Rast nightstands and she has some great photos and tips on what to expect from the project HERE. Check it out!

5 Responses

  1. Great ideas. I look forward to seeing what you do.

  2. I love that dresser perfection

  3. LOVE your idea!! stenciling is too hard core for me, otherwise I would totally do it all over again and steal your idea instead.

    kiddding. And thanks for the mention :)

  4. […] we couldn’t find any on Craig’s, so in October 2010, I came up with some ideas to hack the Rast nightstand and decided that I wanted to do them Dorothy Draper-style. But we didn’t get a chance to go […]

  5. […] we couldn’t find any on Craig’s, so in October 2010, I came up with some ideas to hack the Rast nightstand and decided that I wanted to do them Dorothy Draper-style. But we didn’t get a chance to go […]

Thanks so much for leaving a comment! You're awesome.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 172 other followers