My thoughts about the nursery…

We’re switching it up in here. What used to be our guest bedroom will become our nursery, and what used to be our to-be-exercise-room will be our guest bedroom.

That means… two new rooms to design! Yay!

Today, when taking things out of the ex-guest-bedroom-turned-to-be-nursery, I decided to doodle and play around with possible room arrangements.

Although we’re moving our guest bedroom downstairs, our planned color scheme (orange and gray) will remain in this room. I fell in love with this fabric that I spotted at Effortless Style, so we’ll be adding in navy blue and some greens and yellows in the mix.

I think this would be really great as curtains, maybe. Or a headboard for our sofa (more on that later).

We really want to work with what we have as much as possible to save money so we can buy all the baby stuff! There are so many things to buy!! Aghhh… but we’re not focusing on that right now.

Here’s a very, very rough moodboard:


The chair, orange shag rug, side table, and the ceiling light are all things we already have. The “sofa” you see in my sketch is actually a twin bed mattress that my mom gifted to us. We’ll be turning that into a sofa, inspired by Aubrey + Lindsay’s cute couch in their nursery.

What we need to buy: a white crib, a long dresser to serve as a catch-all and changing table (Craig’s List or thrift store), and pillows and accessories (West Elm has lots of cute navy pillows I’m digging right now). I would love to add a pouf that I’ve been coveting for a long time – the cute gray knit pouf from CB2. I still want nine RIBBA frames for art, but $20 x 9 = $180. Hmm. Hey, my birthday’s coming up. (hint)

Not bad, but still far from a finished vision. We’re getting there, though!

10 Responses

  1. Very cool. I recenlty broke out the wallet for six Ribba frames.

  2. I like the fabric!! Perfect punch to add to the nursery room. :) This is exciting!

  3. Very lovely! I cannot wait! ox

  4. So excited you commented on my blog. I’m just discovering yours and loving everything. Can’t wait to see this nursery come together!

  5. […] Yay!! I’ve been prattling off about the RIBBA frames for, like, forever and am thrilled that we’ll be getting them within three months! They’ll go in the nursery. […]

  6. […] had found a fabric that I loved online, as seen from my basic moodboard, but I have a silly aversion to buying unseen fabric online. I wanted to see what was out there […]

  7. […] came the little baby in my belly, so we changed our plans and turned the guest room into a nursery. I planned to leave the side table there to hold a lamp. I dreamed about painting it black and […]

  8. […] version of the tissue paper lantern, and I fell in love. I thought it would be perfect for the nursery. The nifty, cute little stop-motion video (actually a slideshow) convinced me that this project […]

  9. […] came the little baby in my belly, so we changed our plans and turned the guest room into a nursery. I planned to leave the side table there to hold a lamp. I dreamed about painting it black and […]

  10. […] version of the tissue paper lantern, and I fell in love. I thought it would be perfect for the nursery. The nifty, cute little stop-motion video (actually a slideshow) convinced me that this project […]

Thanks so much for leaving a comment! You're awesome.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 171 other followers