Check Out My Crib (Skirt)

Our crib skirt is really cute. I finished it over a month ago, I don’t know why I’m just sharing it with you now…

Oh yeah, because there’s a newborn around here. But I’m getting a handle on this new life and I think I’ll get back to posting at least three times per week. Let’s hope for the best!!

Okay, so, our crib skirt! I mean, Janella’s crib skirt. I guess everything in the nursery is now officially hers. Even though she hasn’t slept in that room yet.

I really liked this sweet polka dot fabric, Dumb Dot in charcoal by Michael Miller. I found it at Tonic Living.

The price was right – under $10 a yard. And the dots on the fabric were so helpful – they helped me cut in a straight line. This was so much easier than cutting the fabric for the curtains.

And it looks sweet with our white crib

Please ignore the green sheet. I couldn’t find cute and reasonably priced crib sheets, so we just went with what we found at Walmart. But after thinking about it, I’ll buy white crib sheets and keep the crib bright and simple.

There’s no tutorial here on how to make a crib sheet, because it’s a really straightforward process and I pretty much followed this tutorial, except I didn’t hem together the three pieces (the front piece and the side pieces).

Naturally, I hemmed the fabric with hemming tape. My sewing machine is STILL inside its box. Soon, it will see daylight. Soon. Soon. I’m hoping if I say it enough, it’ll happen.


But there was a problem. You see, I attached the crib skirt to the crib with Velcro…


…but the metal thing you see in the above photo was just in the way. It made the fabric stick up at the ends, like so:

Yes, I know. It’s a white people problem (even though I’m half Mexican), but it bothered me. So I found a ghetto solution… I taped it down.

Whatever works, right? You can’t even see it unless you look at it up close, and I don’t think anybody will. Except on this blog. But whatever! If it continues to bother me, I’ll add some kind of mesh backing to join the three pieces together and hopefully make everything nice and flat. For now, it works.

Why did I add a crib skirt when the Gulliver crib already looks good without it? I wanted to add some more pretty fabric to the nursery and also give us some extra storage space. If we ever need to, we could fit some boxes and things under the crib.

For now, it holds cats.


Vaquero loves to sleep under there. Sometimes he attacks my feet when I’m picking up or putting down Janella. Makes my life a little more exciting.

The crib’s in our bedroom right now, though. Good thing the crib skirt matches our bedroom!

Yep, white crib sheets will be better. (This is the waterproof cover… Am I a bad parent for letting Janella sleep on that instead of a sheet? In my defense, the sheet was being washed.)

14 Responses

  1. Cute :) Love the polka dots!

  2. Live the polka dots! I would have choose the same look! :)

  3. Love! *chuckled about Vaq* Goodness forbid he scares you while you have Janella in your arms. Jeez. BTW- Janella looks like a doll. It’s still surreal to me. :)

  4. So cute. (Little J). And your skirt is great. I’m totally down with tape as a solution.

  5. OMG, thank you for the white people problems link!!! So funny. And, nice crib skirt!

  6. lol! :) I had the same darn issues with our crib skirt! I just used safety pins.

    Your little girl is darling the dot crib skirt is so cute too!

    I know what you mean about thrifty crib sheets, there few and far between!

  7. Love it!!! And Janella is SO PRECIOUS :) Congratulations a million times over :) Wanna hear something funny? We co-slept for the first few months, too. Then Baby moved to a bassinet in our room. Now her crib is going in our room (sound familiar) and her cribskirt is also a Michael Miller dot :) Ta Dot in “Stone” – which is a light gray. Great minds think alike, girlie!

  8. The bedskirt is great and a perfect place to store (hide) stuff. Can you please tell me how much yardage you used? Do you think 2 yards its enough? Thank you so much!

    • Yes, 2 yards is more than enough! It was perfect for three sides and I have some left over to make a little pillow. However, if you wanted to cover four sides, you might want to get 2.5 or 3 yards just to be on the safe side.

  9. HI! Do you know the hight of each of your panels? I have been looking for the hight from the bottom of the mattress to the floor for some time now! Thanks!

Thanks so much for leaving a comment! You're awesome.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 171 other followers