Some ideas for your next DIY rug!

I love rugs. I especially love rugs that have a bold pattern. I really love the rug we bought for our living room – it brought the room to the next level.

(Lol at these unfilled frames. I really gotta get going on these very soon!)

But rugs can be expensive. We were lucky to snag our rug on sale, but it still wasn’t a drop in the bucket. That’s why I’m really in love with the idea of a DIY rug. The possibilities are endless… and it’s 100% custom!

We need a large rug for our game room and I think DIYing a plain rug will be a great move.

We all know the results can be beautiful, as evidenced from the following rugs that were made over by some amazingly talented people:

Cristi of Charm Home Design made this rug for her son’s nursery using contact paper.

diy rug pattern

McLaura of Ramblings around DC and Beyond made this rug with a homemade foam stamp. Clever!

diy rug pattern

Ainhoa of A Little Bite of Everything made this rug using a stencil that she made. Go over to her blog to download the template!

diy rug pattern

And who can forget this gorgeous rug painted by Hayley at Hayley Anderson Photography ? She used lots and lots of green tape.

diy rug pattern

Inspired by these (and many more others) rug creations, I’ve been keeping an eye out for great rug patterns that I can emulate. Here are a few that I’ve pinned. (Follow me on Pinterest!)

This rug from the May/June 2011 issue of Lonny is just beautiful! This could be done with a homemade stencil.

diy rug pattern

That issue was full of gorgeous rugs, actually. Here’s another one that I liked – this would be great for a playroom or a nursery.

diy rug pattern

It would be a lot of work (and lots of tape!) to make that one, but it could turn out to be very cool. The hexagons could be bigger to make it easier, and the colors limited to three or four shades.

I also love finding great patterns on painted floors, like this one from House Beautiful:

diy rug pattern

That could be a sweet rug!

I like to look at rugs that are for sale and dream about DIYing them…

Like this rug from Weego Home. It’s fun, it’s funky, and it’s out of my budget at $1495.00.

diy rug pattern

But wouldn’t that be fun to make? It would definitely have to be a free-form job, so if you’re good at free-form drawing or painting this would be the perfect DIY rug design for you.

I liked this simple striped rug showcased by Molly at molly loot:

diy rug pattern

The colors aren’t all that great, at least to me, but I like the addition of an extra tiny stripe every other thick stripe. With some great colors, this could be a cool DIY rug design.

And it seems like I can’t do any kind of round-up without including something from West Elm! This cute rug could be very easy to DIY – and you wouldn’t need a stash of tape or a stencil. You could just wing it and come up with something similar.

diy rug patternAll I’ve gotta do now is to find a really large, plain, light-colored flat-woven rug. Easier said than done, but I’ll find it… somehow, someday, somewhere.

Have a great and productive weekend! I’m hoping to make some serious progress on the laundry cabinets

5 Responses

  1. Your blog on stenciled rugs couldn’t have come at a more perfect time! Am on the prowl for a rug for our baby room– the one we want is $279 (ulp) so we’re debating whether or not to do it ourselves. After seeing this, we will take on the challenge!

  2. Great post! I need to go pin a bunch of those because I think a stenciled rug is in my future too!

  3. Love the DIY rugs! I’ve blown this idea off in the past because it seems like something I’d mess up. But you’ve got me reconsidering!!

  4. Rugs are crazy expensive, but I only like the tufted wool kind so painted ones don’t really work for me. I just love to sink in!

Thanks so much for leaving a comment! You're awesome.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 172 other followers