Our hard work pays off…

Sometimes, the grass is NOT greener on the other side.

When we bought our home, we had the option of having the builder put in sod on our backyard or leaving it for us to do it ourselves. We decided that we didn’t want to pay interest on sod and pay labor, so we did it ourselves.

The worst two days of our lives. (Nick says at least it was good exercise.)

But today I looked out of our bedroom window and, wow, big difference. Our neighbor had their sod put in by the builder. Theirs aren’t as green as ours. Not even close.

Yes, our grass (bermuda) is dormant through winter but it’s getting warmer around here so it would make sense for the grass to become a bit green by now. I can’t believe the difference. Our front lawn is not as green – but then again, it was laid by the builder (no choice on our part).

We dug out SO MANY ROCKS (we actually STILL have some of the rocks – I have no idea how we’re going to get rid of them) that I really doubt that the builder bothered with getting rid of all the huge rocks under ground. Maybe that made a big difference?

Our biggest goal this summer is to keep our grass stay green, free of weeds, and mowed regularly. We epically failed last year.

Yes, there’s some weeds out there in our backyard. We’re on it. But IT WON’T STOP RAINING what feels like every other day. Did we accidentally move to Seattle?

7 Responses

  1. I am glad to see you are glad your hard working paid off. šŸ˜€ It is one of sweetest feeling in the world, right? Like carrying a baby for nine frigging months, and then having her in my arms, whew, it totally paid off all the short breathing, the unwanted weights, and bloating.. all that paid off. Maybe not the same concept, but…..

  2. Wow. I will never complain about putting in the sod again.. I mean, two days versus nine months? Puts it in perspective. Thanks šŸ™‚

  3. šŸ™‚

    Your house is getting more and more gorgeous. I really can’t wait to see all it finished. šŸ˜€

  4. I had the same problem with the rocks. I still find them when I start a new planting bed. One day while I was working I began to throw them into a pile , and now after a year, I have a nice little garden rock feature. I keep adding the stones to it as I go.

  5. i had sod installed myself, but my yard looks a WRECK right now! i need to get started on it before my neighbors have a heart attack.

    thanks for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment! i don’t know the price range of his products, but if you find out, please let me know and i’ll do the same!

  6. @ eric, a garden rock feature? that sounds like a great solution…

  7. oh, wow. i remember you mentioned that 2 days of hell before, so i’m really glad to see that all that hard work paid off!! that garden rock feature sounds like a really great idea- maybe paint them white?? i love seeing white rocks, so cool? gee, i’m truly behind with what you guys have done to tu casa! tu casa es mi casa, si?

Thanks so much for leaving a comment! You're awesome.

