New dining table, with a cat on top

Another great thing about Nick being a math teacher:

This giant compass.

[via]

Okay, okay, okay. I’m exaggerating (just a little bit). But his compass was pretty big. It helped us decide what size table to get for our dining room.

Behold:

42″ is definitely out. Too small.

What about 54″?

Looks about just right! But there’s plenty of space all around the table and chairs. Perhaps we could go a bit bigger?

Like 60″?

Wow, a 60″ table would fit in our dining table perfectly! (And that’s Nick comforting Tala after she fell a third time – she kept on jumping on the cardboard thinking that it was sturdy but nope there’s nothing underneath)

But a 60″ table would be expensive, maybe a bit too big for our tiny six chairs, and would mean we couldn’t add a bar cart or some kind of storage to the room.

We decided on 54″ but it all depended on whatever we could find. And we looked. Looked. Hard. And we decided to go ahead with the Sonoma dining table from Z Gallerie – it was the best table out there that was ALMOST black.

And we love it!

Love the contrast between the chairs and the table. Love the curvy base.

Love how big it is – all the better for me to spread out all of my students’ work to grade and plan for classes. And it’s big enough for Tala to join me and keep me company.

But sometimes Tala just plainly refuses to let me work.

Almost done in this room! What’s next? Window treatments and maybe a bar cart. Some accessories on the top of the table. Paint the ceiling. Later on, wood flooring.

Hmm. I guess I shouldn’t say “almost done” when I think about it. But…! Remember what this room looked like before?

Before:

Now:

Linking up to…

Visit thecsiproject.com

8 Responses

  1. Wow! You guys are almost there! There is a HUGE difference between the before picture and after picture. Simply beautiful, especially the curvy base. Was it all worth it, the hard work looking for the perfect dining table?

  2. Oooooh, I **love** it! πŸ™‚ It’s really beautiful. And you know I love the high contrast with your gorgeous white chairs. Nice work!!

    It’s really looking fabulous in there!

    ~Jacci

  3. πŸ˜€ Thanks for the sweet comments!

    @ Dolly, yes, worth the search… Now we can rest easy knowing we made the best choice.

  4. Looks great! Good idea on the cardboard, too. I think I need to try that.

  5. awesome, the dining table is perfect for me to eat on– my legs won’t hit the legs.. i hate those tables with legs in the way, so i hafta say thank youuuu for thinking of me when you bought your dining table, so sweeeeeet of you guys!! πŸ˜‰ ok, ok, this means i gotta pay you guys a visit soon.

  6. Fabulous! I am really digging those chairs with that table!! Angie xo

  7. Gorgeous! I love the chairs and the light fixture too!

Thanks so much for leaving a comment! You're awesome.

