$67 worth of furniture

So, last friday was a good day. Yes, I woke up with ANOTHER head cold (I mean, second one in a span of three weeks? Does this happen to you?) but we had the day off from work AND we got two cute pieces of furniture via Craig’s List and I am very excited to be working on them.

Yeah, it will take me months before I finally start working on them but STILL.

Coffee table, bamboo style, baby. All you bloggers have gotten me hooked on bamboo furniture and Campaign dressers (which I now want as side tables for our living room or our game room, not sure yet). Thanks a lot. No, no sarcasm there. Thank you for introducing me to these beauties!

Enough talk. Picture time:

Don’t you just love the legs?

We will paint it WHITE.

Got it down from $120 to $60. Pretty good. And we almost offered higher! What happened was, I saw it on Craig’s List and I fell in love with the table. $120 OBO, the ad said. I swallowed my “aww, i feel bad”-ness and shot an email to the owner and offered $60. And heard nothing back for a few days.

“I guess I offered too low,” I told Nick.

He said, “Oh well.” And resumed playing poker online.

A few days later, I was sick and trolling through CL again. Ah, I spy the coffee table again – the ad was reposted. Hmm. I showed the ad to Nick.

“It got put up again! I guess either nobody offered what they wanted to get for the table? They never replied to my email,” I said. “I guess my offer was too low. Should I send another email and offer a bit higher? Like, $80 or something?”

Nick shrugged. “Maybe…”

I said, “Is $80 too low? $90? $100? But really, we can WAIT. We don’t need a coffee table RIGHT NOW. We have a couple of projects we should be focusing on…”

Nick nodded.

“But I really, really, really love this coffee table. I mean, its perfect. I haven’t seen any other coffee table as perfect as this one.”

He smiled. “Why don’t you offer $60 again?”

“But they didn’t EVEN reply to my email. Maybe they were insulted.”

“Just try. If they say no, they might come up with another price and we can see from there.”

“You’re right. It won’t hurt us. I won’t get, like, bit or something.”

So I sent another email – and I got a prompt reply! They said, “Oh, I didn’t get your previous email. Sure, you have it. Come and pick it up when you can.”

YAHOOOOO. I just REALLY love that coffee table. And the woman we picked it up from was so nice. Her son was the cutest thing on the face of the earth. When we left, she sent me another email, saying, “We’re so happy that it’s going to someone who will appreciate it.” How nice.

We also picked up this $7 side table that we’ll paint/silver leaf/spray-paint silver for the guest bedroom.

And I turned around and whoa. Our tree finally has leaves.

Life is good. If only I would finally heal from this stupid head cold. HEAL, BODY, HEAL!

10 Responses

  1. I am so looking forward to those AFTER pictures. 🙂

  2. i love your table. i really need to lay off of the coffee tables right now, but i would have had to snatch that up!

    thank you for your comment. i don’t check google reader often, but thanks for the heads up–it made my day!!!! 🙂

  3. That coffee table is AWESOME. I **love** it. And 60 bones is a steal! Yay 🙂

    Can’t wait to see what that side table will look like in silver. Bold choice. Way to be daring 🙂

    ~Jacci

  4. i truly truly envy you. I couldn’t wait til l I get my own place and get to do zillions projects around the house! I love your coffee table! If you ever get tired of it.. NEGOTIATE WITH ME FIRST, alright? 🙂 🙂 hugshugs

  5. That is a great Craigslist story! I think that table is going to be amazing white. You and your husband have great style.

  6. That is a totally awesome coffee table.

  7. i had that coffee table and the side tables when i was growing up, ahh.. memories are flocking back to me now, hehe.. why paint it white? i think it’ll probably look funny white? i dunno, but i’ve never seen anything bamboo-ish that was also white, hmm.. brown, green, silver, even black, sure.. but white, hmm..

  8. I love that you all are as excited about the table as I am! That helps me KNOW that we made the right decision to just go for it..

    Jesse – click on the links in my blog about bamboo – you’ll see a few pictures of white bamboo. Yum. I do like bamboo painted black, but our huge tv set is already black and I don’t want too much black in the room…

  9. […] Bought stuff on Craig’s List: a dresser, a coffee table and a side table, and a campaign […]

  10. […] chair, orange shag rug, side table, and the ceiling light are all things we already have. The “sofa” you see in my sketch […]

Thanks so much for leaving a comment! You're awesome.

