Beautifying the entryway

Love you too, Nick! (look in the mirror)

We painted the entryway months ago. We got this mirror from TJ Maxx for like $30.  I wanted to paint it but Nick said no, he likes it dark and simple. Hmm. It all depends on what we get for our console table…

Some ideas:

Love this console table from Bungalow 5. I have no idea how much it costs, but I’m sure I don’t want to know. Could I achieve a similar effect by adding nailhead trim to a black console like others have done to their dining chairs a la freckleschick? Genius or a recipe for disaster?

I just recently found this image somewhere on the blogosphere but I’m ashamed to admit I didn’t save the source info! If you know, please let me know. Anyway – I really LOVE this color. I would love to find a console table/drawer with beautiful details that I can paint a soft teal/turquoise color like this one. A nice pop of color on our gray wall underneath that dark mirror! But that would mean the end of my dream for a teal/blue lamp

This is a fun and glamorous mirrored console from Ballard Designs. But this is way too similar to the mirror in our dining room, which is right next to our entryway. Oh well. Perhaps we could use this in another room in our house.

A fun fabric can make for a fun console table. And our (to be honest, mostly my) shoes could be easily hidden underneath this.

Or we could just MAKE our own console table. Knock-off Wood has a plan for this console table from Pottery Barn. We could paint it any color we want and get banging knobs instead of these traditional ones in the picture. Hmm…

Last but not the least, I would love some coat hooks (can you believe we don’t have a coat closet?) like these from Anthropologie:

What do you think? Tell me about your (or your plans for) console table, if you have one in your entryway. Maybe you have some ideas I haven’t thought of!

5 Responses

  1. We have one from World Market, we love it because it is quite narrow (only 11 inches deep) so it doesn’t take up too much room. Most of theirs are dark wood, though. I would make the PB one from Knock off Wood and get some cool knobs for it!

    ps – thanks for stopping by my blog, I’m going to check yours out. It’s nice to ‘meet’ you!

  2. great console ideas.

  3. YUM love that 2nd one! I’m on the lookout for a console table for my entry too. No idea what direction I’ll go in.
    A painted one is great though, bc you could pick up something interesting yet a little beat up on craigslist for cheap.

    good luck!

  4. before hurricane katrina hit, we did have a console table (never knew what it was called until i read this, ha!), but it was wooden with glass doors with the old fashioned “skeleton key” to open the glass doors.. way too southern for your place, heh, but that’s what we had.. now we don’t have one (probably because there was NOTHING in it before, haha)

  5. I *love* that 3rd photo down. Gorgeous.

Thanks so much for leaving a comment! You're awesome.

