DIY Rugs

I love rugs, but I have yet to purchase one – but maybe I don’t have to find a perfect rug to buy. Maybe I can just MAKE one!

There’s two ways I (or you?) could do it:

DIY RUG METHOD 1: With a cheap plain rug and stencils and some paint.

[via ikeahacker]

Isn’t this rug the coolest? Natalie from San Francisco bought a rug from IKEA and made her own stencil by tracing a Moroccan tile. Then she used white fabric paint and voila, she has a beautiful rug that gives off a Madeline Weinrib vibe!

I was thinking about this teal rug for my bedroom and posted about it a while ago. But what if I added a stencil to the rug to jazz it up a bit?

The top three are stencils from http://www.stencil-library.com. You can find the stencils I used here and here. The fourth one is a pattern from this Madeline Weinrib rug that I love – I could make my own stencil using this design.

That rug from IKEA also comes in three other colors (white, red, and dark gray) so you could copy Natalie and do the same thing! I might just do that for our game room…

DIY RUG METHOD 2: Get an upholstery fabric and glue it to a canvas dropcloth. Add a rug gripper under it. Sew up the ends. See the High-Heeled Foot in the Door blog for step-by-step instructions.

[via High-Heeled Foot in the Door]

Wow. WOW. I would have never guessed that this rug started out as fabric! Now… what fabric could I use as a rug…? Let’s head over to Calico Corners!



The first fabric is from here, 2nd is from here, and 3rd is from here.

Pretty awesome. The options are endless. Will you be trying one of these methods? I know I will!! (After we get back from our vacation, that is. A rug isn’t on our Countdown to Cancun list, unfortunately. Cry.)

7 Responses

  1. I never thought to do this, but it’s a GREAT idea if you can’t find what you’re looking for and it will cost a fortune to make. I’m SO curious about the stenciling — does it hold up, does it look good close up? I’d really like to try it…

    Kelly

  2. Those rugs are just awesome! I have to file this project for the not-too-distant future! Great DIY!
    -ME

  3. funny how you went to lengths to describe how you’d be getting your perfect rug, only to go into that months later, hmm.. seriously, i’m thinking about visiting austin in oct/nov, so i’ll definitely be giving my renter’s perspective on your home upgraders! 😉

  4. Oh my goodness! Its like you understand my mind! You seem to know a lot about this, just like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you can do with some pictures to drive the content home a bit, besides that, this is outstanding blog. A wonderful read. I will definitely return again.

Thanks so much for leaving a comment! You're awesome.

