You call this an attic?

We’ve lived at our house for over a year, but we hadn’t yet taken a glimpse into our attic until recently, when we finally bought a ladder. We have a couple of boxes that we’ve been wanting to put away in the attic, including a twin mattress that will come in handy for visitors but we just don’ t have room for right now.

I knew our attic wouldn’t be as nice or spacious as this:

[via]

Nor would it be as old and creepy as this:

[via]

I was expecting, at the very least, something like this:

[via]

But instead we found this:

What the…? What do we do now? Nick says he has some ideas, like putting plywood and something something, but I’m puzzled and I looked on the internet and lots of it is vague vague. I’ve never actually SEEN an attic in real life before, so this was my first time and I am just perplexed. This wasn’t how it was supposed to go…

At least we have an attic, I guess?

Any ideas? Do you know of any good how-to websites or books?

9 Responses

  1. we have really, really low trusses in our attic. we don’t put anything up there except an artificial xmas tree.

  2. Am I seeing things? Is that carpeting up there? Oh boy, I wouldn’t know where to start… sorry! No ideas here! Some how I think you kids will come up with something! I see a great DIY project in your future… keep us posted!
    -ME

  3. Wow, that sucks! I am certainly not an expert, but I don’t think you’d be able to get rid of any of those beams to create some floor space because they seem to be supporting the roof! It looks like you have some great insulation down, so at least that’s a bonus! When my mum bought her house and they looked in the attic, they realized they had zero insulation, and the builders put the roof shingles directly onto the beams, so there is just the roof shingle layer between the attic and the outside world. When some of the shingles have been broken (through old age or a storm), you can see the sky from the attic. Crazy.

  4. Wow we just bought a house 6 months ago and have recently viewed it with similar results. Low ceilings, weird cross beams and MOUNTAINS of fluffy insulation. What did you end up doing, I suppose I won’t be getting my finished attic craft room in this house.

    • Haven’t done anything yet other than put a door in there for storage. Nick still believes he can do something with it, I’m not too sure. Sorry that you’re in the same boat… they shouldn’t even call it an attic and give us false hope.

  5. HA HA HA VITA IS MY NAME 🙂 NOT THAT YOU CARE OR ANYTHING I RAN ACROSS THIS LOOKING FOR A PIC OF AN ATTIC FOR MY GROUP ” ATTIC PEOPLE ” IV NEVER SEEN AN ATTIC IN PERSON BEFORE BUT IF I MADE MY OWN I WOULD PUT WOODEN FLOOR PAINT THE WALLS WHITE THEN LET MY MY FRIENDS PAINT SOME PICS ON THE WIDE SIDES AND ONE PICTURE IN A PICTURE FRAME ON BOTH ENDS OF THE UNPAINTED SIDES BUT I SEE ITS NOT QUITE POSSIBLE FOR YOUR ATTIC SO MY IDEA IS REALLY NO GOOD .SORRY. ILL GO NOW……

Thanks so much for leaving a comment! You're awesome.

