The Bedroom Nightstand Saga Comes to an End… Almost.

I can’t believe that our struggle to find nightstands for our master bedroom took almost a year!

In May 2010, we almost got nightstands off Craig’s List but backed out when we found that they weren’t solid wood. We decided we wanted campaign nightstands instead.

But we couldn’t find any on Craig’s, so in October 2010, I came up with some ideas to hack the Rast nightstand and decided that I wanted to do them Dorothy Draper-style. But we didn’t get a chance to go to IKEA. Nick We kept on putting the trip off.

Then in February, we hit up a couple of new-to-us thrift stores. One of them was called Next to New. The north Austin thrift store has a nice selection of furniture, frames, clothes, and appliances and a pricing system that I hadn’t seen before:

IMG_0315

Basically, they tell you WHEN the price will drop. Of course, the risk is there that the item will be gone before the prices drop, but it’s a great idea! This price is for a beautiful, large campaign dresser that could be used as a TV table.

As Nick was ogling this dresser, I walked around and found two campaign nightstands! We considered waiting for the prices to drop, but we didn’t want to risk it and just bought them! I think we paid $70 for the pair.

IMG_0326

The cool thing about these nightstands is how the top drawer opens up like a secretary desk.

IMG_0328

Plenty of room for all the books that are threatening to take over our house!

It’s funny how our plans went full circle and we went back to our original plan. We plan to paint the nightstands either a light gray or white and maybe spray the hardware to be darker. Hopefully the result will look something like this:

lonny, feb/march 2010 issue

At least, I was thrilled that someone tried the Dorothy Draper hack on the Rast nightstand and it turned out fabulous, just like I thought it would!! Check it out here. But I’m sure you all have already seen it while I was in my pregnancy haze.

8 Responses

  1. Those are badass! And CHEAP!

    ps – I’m not really a fan of that Dorothy Draper stuff, I like what you’re doing much better!

  2. Oh those are fantastic great find. No, super great find. I like your plans for them.

  3. Love the nightstands you found, especially since they let you stash clutter out of sight.

  4. LOVE the nighstands – I haven’t seen any that open like a secretary desk like that, how cool!

  5. I absolutely LOVE these. They are *perfect*. What an awesome find!!!
    Can’t wait to see what you d to them 🙂

  6. How exciting! I love reading about people’s thrift store finds. $70 is not a bad deal at all! Can’t wait to see the makeover.

Thanks so much for leaving a comment! You're awesome.

