White Paint Saves the Day… (yes, again)

Sometimes it feels like we’re painting everything white these days. But white is just modern and classic, so we’ll keep on doing it as long as it makes sense.


We got this great coffee table a while back (via Craig’s List, of course) and our first plan was to paint it white. Well, Nick is a Libra and I change my mind all the time, so we did discuss the possibility of painting it a cool teal or a bright yellow. Then we decided to wait until we got the perfect rug.

When making our to-do list for the summer, we added as many things as we could so we could finish lots of projects before the little baby comes. We decided to just GO AHEAD and paint the darn coffee table white. It would go with any rug, and even if it didn’t, we could always paint it again. White would look good for the time being.

Nick attacked the coffee table with our usual formula – 2 coats of primer and 2 coats of white paint, but with spray-paint this time.


It’s still in the garage, waiting for its protective coat, but I think it looks great already.

And the funny thing is, right after we painted it white, West Elm had a sale for its rugs and we grabbed the opportunity to nab their great yellow rug (the Andalusia Rug).
I liked the rug before, but I fell in love when Emily Henderson used it for one of her room makeovers on Secrets of a Stylist.



(all photos via Emily Henderson’s blog)

These photos convinced Nick too, so we whipped out our debit card and made the purchase. The sale took almost $100 off the price – that was a discount we couldn’t pass up.

Unfortunately, I don’t have a photo for you. I’m still waiting for it to arrive to the store.

If you have a West Elm store near you, please don’t buy their rugs online and pay the hefty shipping fees. Call your store and have it shipped there, so you don’t have to pay for shipping. The salesperson I talked with on the phone actually charged me around $100 extra for shipping and fees, with tax on top of it. No way, lady. The manager thankfully removed the shipping fees.

But I’m still waiting. And waiting. I can’t wait to see the rug in our room! I hope it looks good. I don’t have Photoshop anymore so I can’t test it out like I did before. All I can do is cross my fingers… and return the rug with a smile if it doesn’t work out.

9 Responses

  1. I think the table in white with the yellow rug are going to look great together. Wish I knew about the sale. Damn it!

  2. That table is gorgeous!

  3. Wow, I can’t believe how different the table looks! Super chic 🙂

  4. I am so jealous of that table!! Can’t wait to see it with the rug

  5. This is going to be such a happy addition to your space!! Can’t go wrong with white. I just love the lines of your coffee table.

  6. LOVE your new table–looks great white!

  7. What did you use as your protective coat on the coffee table? I’m interested in clear, glossy sealants that don’t turn white painted furniture yellow. xoxo

Thanks so much for leaving a comment! You're awesome.

