Spray Paint Mania

Do you get spray paint mania? Right after you spray paint something and you remember how easy it is and you love the result, you go foraging around the house looking for things you can spray paint.

I’m in the middle of a manic episode right now. I’m even considering spray painting my dining table. Fortunately, there’s a wise guy here named Nick who will stop me from committing this madness.

But nothing is stopping me from spray painting things that don’t work in our house in their original state.

It all started with this little project:

the thinker and the cat, before

The Thinker and the Snobby Cat were both Home Goods finds. We grabbed The Thinker a long while back for the office and I planned to spray paint it white, because it was just too dark and we don’t need any more gray things in this house. The Snobby Cat is a recent find and it was too silver – the kind that looks cheap. It looks better in the photo than it did in real life.

My original plan: turn The Thinker into a white statue and paint the Snobby Cat a cool orange.

I gave both mini-statues a coat of primer. This step changed everything.

The Thinker just didn’t look good in white. It made him look fat… well, not really. He just had too many dents and dings and he looked weird. This photo shows this, but this was after the first coat of teal spray paint.

The Thinker doesn't look good in white

Sorry to ruin the surprise but we decided to make him go teal.

Also, the white primer on the Snobby Cat looked really good and I decided that he had to get a lighter color than orange. What about a bright yellow?

Snobby Cat turns yellow

He’s still snobby, but he looks better doing his snobby thing.

Here’s The Thinker in all of his teal glory.

The Thinker goes teal

Why does my camera curse me so? That’s not teal, that’s blue, camera!

Here’s the same photo, edited heavily to show you the real teal color that it looks like in real life.

This, but only darker.

Well, this is a really simple project (spray paint projects always are) but let me tell you something that I learned…

Rust-oleum spray paint is the best.

rust-oleum spray paint is the best

It coats BEAUTIFULLY… Just be sure to shake the can constantly as you spray. It costs slightly more, but it’s worth it. It’ll be the only spray paint I’ll use from now on – if the color is right. I just wish they had more colors!

The Thinker was sprayed with Rust-oleum Satin Lagoon and Snobby Cat was sprayed with Rust-oleum Gloss Protective Enamel in yellow. Both great, bright, saturated colors.

The pair is now happy in their new home – the Expedit in our game room.

The Thinker and Snobby Cat in their Expedit Home

The nice thing about creating a home with a good color flow is that these things can be put in any room and still look good. So, even though they look good in the expedit right now, they might make a move sometime in the future.

Remember what I said about my current manic episode? Well… guess what I’m working on right now. Here’s a hint:

In other news – I hope you had a great Easter weekend!! We spent ours at the park and it was perfect. Mounting Bloggif

8 Responses

  1. The moving pic/short video is so cool! Love the expression on the snobby cat’s face haha.

  2. Yes, spray paint is so powerful. It’s like getting your hands on a light saber or something. You just want to keep swinging it.

  3. Gosh, I never knew spray paint could make a perfectly fine piece of art look more better and I admit it, more trendy! You’re my color inspiration hero. 🙂 mm the hint is- you have 2nd thinker statue??? or will showcase a different sculpture that is *gasp* spray-painted in its place there??? Love the short video, too!! Reminds me of a flipbook haha. 🙂

  4. The pic is awesome! And I love that yellow cat. He is so sassy.

  5. Oh I totally know what you mean about spray paint mania. I also get that when I use the ‘laminator’ at work, nothing is safe from being laminated when I bust it out! I love the colors your chose for your ‘subjects’….and your family is adorable!

  6. Can you believe that I have never spray painted anything? Obviously I am missing out! I really love the bold colours you chose!

  7. First of all, Janella is a LOVE.

    Secondly, I love your hair.

    And, last of all, that lagoon spray paint looks like a fabulous color.

Thanks so much for leaving a comment! You're awesome.

