Refinishing Old Cabinets

The saga of the laundry cabinets is so long, I’m dividing it up into three parts.

Today, we’ll talk about how I refinished the cabinets. On Wednesday, we’ll discuss how we installed the cabinets. Finally, on Friday, I’ll show you how we covered up all the gaps and finished it off with molding.

Here we go!

This is what we started with.

IMG_2419

The cabinets had dirty white paint that was sloppily applied.

IMG_2422

Paint spilled over the edges and the brush strokes were obvious.

IMG_2424

I took my detail sander and sanded off the paint drippings on the edges. I wish I had an orbital sander, which would have been a much more efficient tool.

IMG_2427

I thought I would sand off all the paint, but it was too thick and it kept on clumping up the sandpaper. So, I just focused on the edges and smoothing up the brush marks as best as I could.

In the next photo, you can see what the edges looked like before I sanded them on the left side of the sander, and the sanded down edges on the right side.

IMG_2433

After a LOT of sanding and going through several sheets of sandpaper, I was finally done! Well, eh. Done with the first step, at least.

IMG_2436

You can see how all the sand built up in the edges of the cabinets. I vacuumed them out with a vacuum (I need to buy a shopvac soon) and cleaned them up as best as I could.

Unfortunately, the cabinets STILL weren’t ready for paint. There was thousands of holes and dings that I had to fill up with wood filler. This was almost as fun as doing my taxes. No, doing my taxes was SO MUCH MORE fun than filling up all these tiny holes.

The next time I buy used cabinets, I will be sure to check for tiny holes. If there are too many of them, I will pass on them because of how long this step took me in the refinishing process!

But again, all that work and time was worth it because in the end, the cabinets were (mostly) smooth and looked like new.

IMG_0177

To reach that point, I used oil primer (two coats) and two to three coats of Behr paint color-matched to Sherwin Williams Web Gray. I used a foam roller and a high-quality brush.

IMG_3184

Come back on Wednesday to see how we installed the cabinets!

6 Responses

  1. Ah, gotta love the prep step. I always laugh when people say they just busted open some paint and skipped all those steps, their stuff looks like it! Good prep is so worth it, they look great!

  2. What a transformation. Looks so good! Soothing, even.

    I’m wanting to paint my 20-yr old faded kitchen cabinets with gel stain (likely). Need to buy the paint asap. I go back to work next Thursday. *whimpers*

    • If you finish it before Thursday, I will give you a standing ovation. We’ll paint our kitchen cabinets white someday and I’m SO not looking forward to it because I know it’ll take us at least a month!! Share before and after pics when you’re done!!

  3. Nice work. Love the bright knobs.

Thanks so much for leaving a comment! You're awesome.

