Nursery Progress: Adding Pretty Ribbon to Roller Shades

Okay, I admit it. I officially have a cold. I wanted to write an elaborate tutorial on how to add ribbon to cheap vinyl roller shades, but my brain is too fuzzy today. I will go into more detail tomorrow, but here are some pretty before and after pictures!

*UPDATE – Here’s the tutorial!*

We bought room-darkening vinyl roller shades to go with our curtains because babies sleep at all times of the day and I wanted the room to be able to get dark enough during the day. But they weren’t pretty. They actually look better in pictures than in real life.

We also had two tiny windows to deal with – one next to the closet that brings sunlight right to the crib, and one in the closet. Who has a window in their closet?? We do, apparently.

After finding inspiration on the web by way of Pinterest (more on this here), we bought some orange ribbon and went to work.

The result:

And I decided to give the tiny windows a simpler treatment:

Come back tomorrow for a full tutorial! *UPDATE – Read it HERE*

I’m off to blow my nose again.

Oh and I linked up to Roomspiration today – a fun linky party where bloggers share their living rooms. Check it out for more eye candy.

One Response

  1. […] Okay, so let’s talk about how I put the orange ribbon on our cheap blackout vinyl shades. […]

Thanks so much for leaving a comment! You're awesome.